Stuck in the Mud

As a girl who grew up in South Mississippi, I’ve seen my share of mud. Yes, I’ve even played in it. Walking through the marsh swamp hunting deer or searching out a lost coon hound. (Did I mention I’m a veganish/vegitarian/animal rights person now?) Four wheeler or horseback riding on the trails with friends. Riding shotgun with a studly guy showing what he and his truck are made of down the power lines. Heck, I’ve even voluntarily run obstacle courses through the stuff.

In all the playing inevitably people and machines got stuck.

Mud is slick and slippery. It’s also thick and messy. It suctions to you, holding you down like a super villain with super strength. If you’ve ever played in the mud, you know it’s tough to get out of the mud.

Well friends, I’m stuck in the mud!

I’m bogged in the figurative mud of writing. Chapter 19 is the suction holding my fingers over the keys, unable to move. Eventually I’ll twist and wiggle enough and my fingers with break free. I’ll stare at the page long enough and the words will come.

This muddy spot will pass, it always does. But it got me thinking.

What do you do when you get stuck in the mud?

11 thoughts on “Stuck in the Mud

  1. I take a shower. LOL. You think I’m kidding, but there are three things that clear my mind and “unstick” it. 1. Shower , 2. driving , 3. a good night’s rest. Seriously, I have to move onto something else and let my relaxed mind get a chance to solve the problem. I’ve also heard of writers doing exercises like thinking of the most unlikely event that could happen next.

  2. I change what I’m doing. I either skip ahead or backtrack and see if the plot is off course. Whichever I pick, the most logical thing for me to do when I’m stick is simply to move to where it’s not so muddy.

    • I’m glad to know V! I back tracked, all the way to the beginning, to renew my feel for the book and to check my plotting. (Though, shhhh don’t tell anyone, I know squat about plotting.) We’ll see if it helped tomorrow. Thanks for the help!

  3. It’s hard, Megan. You just have to write through it. I know that’s no help. Sometimes I’ll insert something like…put more here…and move on to another scene, or even another chapter.

    Good luck

  4. My mantra as a writer is…wait for it…

    You can’t revise a blank page
    You CAN revise crap
    WRITE ON!

  5. It’s true. You just have to plow through. If I really can’t get past the bump in the road, I sometimes go back and cut the last bit I wrote and save it in a new file. I find that sometimes starting a scene over again helps me get moving again. I keep what I cut so I can mine the good bits. Everyone has a different method, you just have to find the one that works for you. The important thing is to keep moving on!

  6. Pingback: Out of the Bog | Megan Mitcham

Leave a Reply

