How Old Are You?

Don’t answer.

It doesn’t matter.

That’s right, there’s another reason to love writing. A writer’s age is inconsequential. Sure there are prime numbers large publishers like to see. But from eight to eighty and below and beyond those ages people’s stories get published.

Children are writing children’s books. Teens are writing thousand plus page masterpieces. Senior citizens are writing the gambit from murder confession memoirs to high paced thrillers from the nursing home.

Years ago, one of my high school students sat huddled in the back of the classroom intent on the pages of his book for the few precious seconds he could steal between the end of the assignment and the bell to change classes. Curious I made my way toward him to see what was so enthralling. The book was Eragon. It later dawned on me, my student was the same age Christopher Paolini had been when his first novel, Eragon, was published.

A favorite author of mine, Jack Higgins, is in his eighties and still rolling out the new releases, A Devil Is Waiting. Thanks, Jack!!

So, breathe easy. Your age is just a number. Work on your craft. Write your story, no matter how young or old you are. Clear your path. Who knows where it will lead.

8 thoughts on “How Old Are You?

  1. Hey, Megan! Well said. I saw a refrigerator magnet one day that I would purchase if magnets stuck to my refrigerator. The message?

    How old would you be if you didn’t know your age?

    LOVE that sentiment.

    • Vintage things are awesome! They’re made much more sturdy than things of today. And they’re beautiful for their uniqueness and character. So, I’ll barrow your terminology when I reach my vintage quality. Thanks for your comment! Too funny!!

Leave a Reply

