Narcissistic Much?

Writing, for me, began randomly one day with a spark of idea and the fire to create. In the blink of an eye, it seemed, my story was finished and my brain overflowed with ideas begging their due attention. With all the excitement of my new found passion, I decided to become an author. I wanted to see my stories published and shared the world over.

Little did I know, writing was the easy part.

After loads of research and boring, yet helpful, reads, I found there was a staircase before me. The top high in the distance and many steps in between, some massive and some small.

So, as I often do to keep my self on track, I made a list that went exactly like this. Write, become member of writing associations, write, find local editor, write, create website and blog, write, research agents, write, write query letter, write. I’ve managed to cram other steps along the way, ones I picked up from writer friends. Such as tweet, take self editing class, plotting class and join a critique group.

In all of my plotting and planning I never thought of my self as selfish, self centered, or egotistical. It was work. Work I loved and still do. But when I started tweeting and went live with my blog and website, whoa, it creeped me out.

I was at the beginning of my journey with no fancy book covers to flash over my website. I commissioned two friends to create my logo and take my fancy pictures to decorate my web spaces. And I loved them, until I went live. After, I felt uncomfortably narcissistic because I shouted to the world, “Look at me!”

“Look what I can do!”

I hope you enjoyed the Ode to Stuart!

Now, I focus on the goal, the publication light at the top of the stairs, and don’t fear I’m going to fall in love with my refection and die from the inability to leave it. Neither am I going to cringe every time I see my reflection hoisted on the web for all to see. Β (Haha, such a nerd. It’s the title of the first novel I wrote.)

With our lives, even as non-writers, on the sticky web for the world to see, have you ever felt a tad narcissistic? Uncomfortable with the public light, no matter how dim?

13 thoughts on “Narcissistic Much?

  1. Ah, that is why I have a pen name, dear Megan. I slip on the old ‘Sherry Isaac’ hat, and slide into the spotlight.

    As myself, I’d weep in a corner. Not very effective.

    • Aha! Multiple personalities! I knew there was something funny about you. No, it’s really just your sense of humor.

      I’m discovering that many writers use pen names, far more than I ever thought. I suppose it would give a buffer from the real world as harsh and crazy as it can be.

  2. First off, I wanted to say how much I love the look of your blog. And the picture is absolutely beautiful! πŸ™‚ I’m just starting into the whole ‘author process’ myself, so I know how you feel. I’ve never been one to shy from attention, but I think you need to be careful sometimes. I think some authors go a little overboard with the self promo and that tends to turn me off. But once my first book becomes available to the public I can’t promise I won’t be an obsessive self promoter too, at least until the excitement wears off (though it probably never will). πŸ˜‰

    • You’re right. I’ll probably be sining a different tune when my name and published novel are in the same sentence. I’ve thought about publication, but not how I’ll react to it, aside from skipping, dancing and singing everywhere I go. I’ll have to rely on good friends to reign me in, should I get carried away like some do. It can be a major turn off.

      Thanks for the perspective, Julie! And the praise for my blog. My photographer is amazing and captured me… books and nature.

      Do you have a blog, yet? If yes, please send me the info. And good luck to you on your journey!

      • Yes-ish. I have a blog but I’m not quite ready to reveal it to the world yet. I only just learned how to incorporate emoticons into my comments section. Those who know me know how important emoticons are to me. lol. I’m writing under the pen name Evelyn Jules. I’m @JulieDoner on twitter. Margaret introduced us a little while ago. I’ll let you know when it’s time for the big unveiling! πŸ™‚

        Thanks for the luck and good luck to you too!

      • Yes-ish, I love it! Well, when you go live, I’ll be one of your first commenters. And yes, the connection has been made. Gotta love some Mags!!

      • Aww, you’re so sweet! Thank you so much! I’m Mags’ #1 fan, but not in a Kathy Bates in Misery sort of way. πŸ˜‰ I know I’ll be skipping, dancing, and singing everywhere I go on the day of my release too!

  3. I don’t think you’re narcissistic. I think you’re self-expressive. There’s a difference people can immediately pick up on and feel when they visit a site. I think writers who want to make a living off of their writing have to walk a tight rope. We have to try to offer writing (posts, tweets, books) that is full of value (info, entertainment, etc.) while at the same time remaining true to our artistic vision and creative passion — whatever it is that compelled us to write in the first place — which sometimes means willingly ignoring what an audience’s reaction might be to our work.

    Add in to that mix other concerns… the need for privacy and the demands of time. Well, it’s a wonder any of us are sane!! πŸ˜€

    Loved the Stuart clip! Have a wonderful weekend!!

    • A tight rope for certain. Always looking for the balance.

      I know I’m not narcissistic, but worried for a time I’d come off that way. I’m glad you don’t think my web presence does!

      Self-expressive is a great way to up it! Thanks, Jill! I hope you have a lovely weekend.

  4. Hey, Megan. Your website rocks. I know I told you that the first time I visited. As do your posts.

    I’ve never felt narcissistic about a blog presence. Perhaps exposed and vulnerable are better descriptors. But, hey! That was my choice. I put a pic of my toes on one of my early blogs.

    When I was in sales, my most successful contacts and clients came from interactions wherein they spoke at least twice as much as I did. I couldn’t very well sell to their needs if I didn’t give them a chance to express them.

    I think similar rules apply to building strong internet connections. Promote other blogs more frequently than you do your own. Then, when success comes, grateful tweeps and blog followers will stand in line to promote your success. You paid it forward.

    That Brinda Berry (you may know her?) is a prime example.

    • Exposed and vulnerable, yes, I can certainly empathize. The same goes with your stories, you write your heart out and work your bum off. Then you, if given the chance, set your baby free for the world to see, review, critique. Scary stuff, but also exhilarating.

      Excellent advice for a new blogger, Gloria! Thank you!!

  5. Have I told you that I’m shy? It’s hard to be an social introvert and live on the web as a writer. I am getting used to it, and I’ve always said to “fake it till you make it.” You are charming in person and your website reflects your personality very well.

Leave a Reply

