The Art of Marriage

A few weeks ago, I had the pleasure of my Mother’s company for a girls’ day. Just mother and daughter time filled with shopping, antiquing, eating and being pampered. States between us, this was a real treat.

While antiquing I found an unexpected attraction and blog topic.

Heavy and interesting stuff! Upon further research, I discovered this rendering was a shortened version of Wilferd A. Peterson’s poem, “The Art of Marriage.”

In the fictional world we often read, watch or try to create the dynamics of marriage in a story. The fairy tale. The good and passionate. The headless and bad. And sometimes the really ugly. Above, Wilferd wrote what he believed to be the bases of any true and lasting marriage.

I believe that all people should have the right to be married to whomever they choose. On the flip side, I believe marriage is not for everyone. It’s certainly not the only route a life can happily take. However, should one decide to make the commitment to another, I agree with most of what Mr. Peterson wrote with one exception and one addition.

If I go to bed, I will no longer be angry, annoyed or frustrated. As a married gal who requires a good eight hours and likes more, I might just be tired and need to go to sleep. All will be well in the morning.

And for me, communication is the key to any loving lasting relationship!

What do you think are the keys to a lasting marriage? Do you agree with Wilfred? Do you believe in marriage?

Married or not, I hope you feel love today!!

6 thoughts on “The Art of Marriage

  1. Practice make improvement and we could all use a little of that. Whoever said, “Practice makes perfect.” was full of it. I’m not perfect and will never claim to be. Thanks, Mags!

  2. How one person (let alone a man) would be testimony to the “Art of Marriage” is beyond me. It is so hard (being a woman) to know what WE want, let alone, him to tell us. lol But sometimes this is the case. How wonderful my husband is, to know what I need, at times I don’t wish him to know (I like to keep him guessing). But communication is the key, without it married life can become mundane. My hubby, will sometimes (often) tell me he does not like me. And with good reason, I, at times have trouble liking myself. Don’t get me wrong, I love me and he loves me A LOT ! Just the same, I don’t like him at times. You don’t have to have a lot of things in common, but it helps. We are very committed to each other, 21 years worth and going strong. I am sooooo rambling, (another trait that causes me to cringe) But really it is being aware and caring enough to focus on your mutual love and respect for each other. Yes, the kids will put some stress on “love channel”, but putting forth the effort for each other is a tremendous bonus. We teach our kids ‘Yes, sir’ ‘Thank you’ and ‘Please’ and all these teach respect. Don’t forget to use these with your love(minus the ‘Yes, sir’, unless your kinky), it is too easy to forget and take advantage of the one who will be with you the rest of your life. Bless Mr. Peterson, as well as his inspirational wife.

    • What wonderful insight with a hilarious twist! We often hurt the ones we love the most. But focusing on communication, mutual love and respect are near perfect keys to a lasting loving marriage. Thank you for your comment!!

Leave a Reply

