Obstacle Course Called Life

Life is an obstacle course. Some parts bear not a second glance. Barrel on ahead. Others stop you in your tracks.

Those hurdles loom dark and foreboding. They knock the wind from your lungs and turn your blood to ice. Make you second guess your next step for fear of the mine your foot might compress. Those blockades force your eyes wide and turn your head in every direction looking for the slightest aid.

When faced with a barricade of such magnitude you have a choice. Sit and throw your hands up in defeat. Or trudge on using any and all means necessary to overcome the wall ahead.

Last week my writing wall seemed insurmountable, after struggling to complete a simple chapter to end my second novel and receiving a thorough lashing from a critique of three chapters of my first novel. The desire to sit, cry and never get back up pulled heavy that day. I opened and closed my story so many times my computer screamed, “Make up your damn mind!”

I took a break, hopped in the car to feed my horse and leave it all behind. During the drive I couldn’t help feeling sorry for myself. Poor me. I only have a loving family, a pretty roof over my head and delicious food to eat. But the wall wouldn’t allow me to see any of that. Until I saw this.

Three feet off the road, I saw his little head gently raise from the tall grass surrounding him. His sad eyes looked directly at me for the briefest of moments then fell back behind the blades.

Certain he’d been hit and left injured but alive, I had to stop. My stomach twisted with thoughts of gore I might find and my heart broke for this animal.

After three tentative steps I found it was no hit and run, but a dump and run. One many weeks before judging by the way the skin sucked to his bones and his lethargic stumble as he tried to flee. With gentle words, a measured approach and no energy on his part with which to run he settled down in a nook of thorny brush and branches.

Long story short, this is that same skin and bone flea and tick infested puppy after one week of TLC.

On that day, it took this puppy, frail but fighting for life, to make me look at the wall and say, “Ha, I’m getting over you.”

So, the moral to the story is when the obstacle seems insurmountable take a step back, think of all you have, all others don’t, hold tight to the people who support you and keep on truncking!

None of us are the writers we want to be, (insert noun) we want to be, the people we want to be. But we’re one hell of a work in progress!

Press on!

And Spay and Neuter your cats and dogs! Mine are.

Facts: Approximately 4 million cats and dogs are euthanized each year in U.S. shelters alone. Beyond that, many millions more live in unfit condition in homes and on the streets. For more facts about spaying and neutering click here.

Working for The Healing Species,  an international compassion education and rescue organization, I saw first hand the atrocities overpopulation cause people and animals alike. Don’t contribute to the problem. Be part of the solution!

Stepping off the soap box now. 🙂

16 thoughts on “Obstacle Course Called Life

  1. Don’t ever step off that soapbox. There’s a reason you gave in to the urge to leave the house that day. I hate it when people don’t have the courage or humanity to find good homes for defenseless animals. Actually, any form of animal cruelty.

    Bless his little heart.

    I empathize with the anxiety you felt about what you might face, but it didn’t stop you.

    That’s a loving spirit. That’s a determined spirit. That’s a writer’s spirit. You’ll power through this set back the way you powered through that day.

    What a cutie! Are you keeping him, or hosting him until you find a good home?

  2. Thanks, Gloria!! Your words are encouraging.

    Copper is the most loving dog I’ve ever met, and I’ve met thousands. Being a two dog family, the plan was to get him healthy and find him a loving home. If I come across someone (maybe you?) who will love him, care and play with him as much as we do, I would let him go. But, to my husband’s dismay, he’s already a part of the family and loved by us all, even my husband who was caught snuggling Copper during Sunday afternoon nap. 🙂

    I hope you have a wonderful week!

  3. Those are powerful words of inspiration! I love your story. I think you’re so right. Even when obstacles seem insurmountable, you just have keep fighting and press on. Focus on the positive things. 🙂 God bless you for taking in that dog. We live out in the country, and every animal we’ve adopted has been one undoubtedly dropped off on the side of the road. They’re housebroken but they’ve been abandoned by the people that supposedly loved them the most. It breaks my heart to think anyone could be so cruel, but the animals that have come into our home and our lives as a result have made it better than I could have ever imagined.

    I just thought you might want to know that I finally finished my blog — or at least I have it in a place where it’s somewhat presentable. lol. Take a peek: http://evelynjules.blogspot.ca/
    I’m on twitter now as my other self too. I’ll add you! 🙂

    • Okay Julie, I tried commenting on your blog two separate times with WordPress, Google, my website url and as anonymous. And either none worked or someplace you’re going to have twenty of the same messages from me. In either case, I’m sorry I don’t have the magic touch today.

      But here’s my message: ^#(^ These little guys are too funny. Congratulations on your inaugural blog post and your TMP contract, Julie! You’ve got to LOVE Margaret Ethridge for her wit and encouragement. I know I do.

      The best thing that happened to me in 2012, writing wise, was joining the Diamond State Romance Authors and gaining a team of women all doing what I love and am working toward doing (becoming a published author) who encourage, support and enlighten me every single day.

      • Awww, I’m sorry it wouldn’t work for you! Bad new blog! *spanks it* Hopefully whatever the problem is, it won’t be a persistent one. In happier news, thanks for your lovely message! Mags has been a friend of mine for a long time, and I don’t know what I’d do without her. The charming wit is just icing on the cake! I’ve heard many good things about the DSRA. I’m so glad you have that group of women supporting you, and I know without a doubt you’ll be published very soon! 🙂

  4. Julie, thanks! It was a powerful day and learning experience I couldn’t help but pass along. Like you said, the unexpected additions are often the most rewarding. I know Copper, whether he stays with us or finds another wonderful forever home, had enriched our lives as much as we have his.

    I’m so glad to see you’re blog up, no matter how in-the-rough. When I went live every person who loved me sent emails with typos corrections. Oh well. No matter how many times you or a friend proof read, typos are part of the process. So, I’m off to take a peek! *squeals with excitement*

  5. Megan, that pup was lucky to find you… or have you find him. Our pets do find us, I believe that profoundly.

    As for the wall, all things in God’s good time. If you hadn’t hit that wall when you did, well, I don’t want to think what would have happened if you’d been in front of your computer that afternoon, working on your manuscript and sorting through your feedback.

    Sometimes, we need a good kick in the butt when a setback hits us, and sometimes, we need to see where the setback takes us.

    • Wise words, Sherry! I certainly needed to be taken that day. And the kick in the pants didn’t hurt too badly. Hope you’re hopping along nicely in your killer shoes!

  6. This entire post really tugged on my heartstrings. First, we all hit walls. The trick is learning how to cut through the sheetrock. lol. That puppy sure is lucky that you found him. I’m a dog lover and former rescue worker, so stories like these speak to me. Thanks for stopping for him.

  7. Shoot, I’m a demolition master. We remodeled the master bath in our old house start to finish. That wall better look out next time. I’m magic with a sledge hammer. 🙂 Thank you, Brinda. I’m glad it spoke to you. And, boy, does rescue work take it toll on you. Everyone should have to do it for at least one week. We wouldn’t have the overpopulation issues we do now. Night!

  8. Jill, he is an all-around threat. Cute, trainable and cuddly. If I let someone else take him, It’d be a miracle. My husband is hoping for one. 🙂 Thank for your kindness, as alway!

  9. Pingback: What’s Wrong with Week of the Day? « Gloria Richard

Leave a Reply

