Everybody Up

Seriously, get your butt out of the chair. Oh, what was that? You’re a writer? Don’t care. At attention. Hop to.

Brilliant author, Nora Roberts has been interviewed many times about the path leading her to such momentous success. Her famous, highly quoted, response is, “Ass in the chair.” Meaning nothing but hard work will garner favorable outcomes.

This lowly author disagrees with Nora. Not her intent, but the letter of her law.

Sitting doubles your risk of diabetes, cancer and heart disease – get this – no matter your fitness level.

What?! Yep, that’s what I said.

I mean, I eat whole foods, drink water like a desert captive given a moments reprieve and I work out like I’m training for battle. While that’s all well and good, if I sit on my duff all day typing, even my risks skyrocket.

Here is my amended suggestion for all you writers out there: Fingers to the keyboard. Feet on the floor.

I’ve written on an elevated desk for a month now and my word count and energy level have doubled, as opposed to my risk for the list of nasty diseases. I am by no means the first to do this. Check out Ernest Hemingway.

Hemingway 3

Hemingway 1

So, get off your butt and get to work on your dazzling manuscripts.

Here is an awesome article about the best standing desks and the ergonomic measurements you should look for when working at a standing desk.

Here is an interesting article on sitting and its hazards.

4 thoughts on “Everybody Up

  1. Thomasville has an Earnest Hemingway standing desk I’ve coveted since I first saw it. YES! Thank you, Miss Megan.

    Now, when I pool my pennies to purchase that sucker, it won’t be a frivolous indulgence. It will be a life-saving, Dr. recommended, health essential.

    Erm. No. I’m not going to access those linky love things for a bit. I don’t want to learn that my Earnest Hemingway desk isn’t ergonomically correct for me.

    Oh. OK. I’ll check them out.

    [Exits grumbling.]

    • My hubs wanted a standing desk years ago. I thought he was crazy! (And he is, in the really cute kind of way.) But being supportive I tried to buy him one at an antique store. It wasn’t the right height, but he is extremely tall.

      I hope your Ernie desk works out!! If it does, post a picture. I want to see that beauty!

      Happy standing, Gloria!!

  2. My good friend, historical fiction author Carole St-Laurent, now has a standing desk and raves about it. While aware of the contraption and of her glee, I saw no reason to leave my chair in favour of standing. Thanks to this post, Megan, now I do. And perfect timing, too.

Leave a Reply

